OEDA 2018 Annual Conference Award Recipients

OEDA Honors Contributions to Economic Development with 2018 Awards of Excellence

Klamath Falls, OR – The Oregon Economic Development Association (OEDA) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2018 Awards of Excellence in Economic Development. The awards are an opportunity to celebrate the positive impact of economic development work and highlight excellence in the field. The awards were presented at the OEDA Annual Conference held in Klamath Falls on October 7-9th.

Download Press Release: OEDA Honors Contributions to Economic Development with 2018 Awards of Excellence
Watch Awards Videos

and without further ado...The 2018 Awards of Excellence in Economic & Community Development

Economic Development Leader of the Year

Tom Nelson, Economic Development Manager of the Corvallis Benton County Economic Development Office

Business Development Success

Project Frostbite (Element Six recruitment to Gresham) and partners Greater Portland Inc, Business Oregon, Port of Portland, City of Gresham, and Portland General Electric

Outstanding Collaborative Partnership

Public Private Partnership to create Salem-Keizer Career and Technical Education Center. Partners included Mountain West Investment Corporation, the Salem-Keizer School District and City of Salem Urban Renewal Agency

Exceptional Economic Development Marketing and Promotions

Central Oregon is Hiring and Reboot in Bend video campaigns by Economic Development for Central Oregon (EDCO) and East Cascades Works

Urban Renewal Project of the Year

The Windward development by PHK Development Inc. in partnership with the City of Lake Oswego Redevelopment Agency

Lyle Stewart Award

Harvey Rogers

Past Award Recipients

2017 Award Recipients

  • Business Development Success: McMinnville Economic Development Partnership for their Organic Valley project
  • Economic Development Leader of the Year:Jody Christensen, Executive Director of the McMinnville Economic Development Partnership
  • Exceptional Marketing and Promotions:Umpqua Economic Development Partnership for The Great Umpqua July 4th Food Truck Competition
  • Outstanding Collaborative Partnership:Better Together for the Central Oregon Youth Career Connect
  • Legislator(s) of the Year: Representative Cliff Bentz, Senator Betsy Johnson

2016 Award Recipients

  • Excellence in Economic & Community Development: Daimler Trucks North America, EDCO, and the City of Madras
  • Economic Development Leader of the Year: Renate Mengelberg, Economic Development Director for the City of Canby
  • Outstanding Marketing and Promotions: Partnership for Economic Development in Douglas County, Run to Roseburg campaign
  • Outstanding Collaborative Partnership: Caroline Cummings, Oregon RAIN


2015 Award Recipients


2014 Award Recipients

  • Exceptional Marketing and Promotions: Soredi
  • Outstanding Collaborative Partnership: McMinville Development Partnership McMinville Works
  • Business Development Success Story: EDCO, REDI, CVB & Redmond Chamber
  • Economic Development Leader of the Year: Eric Andersson, Pacific Power
  • Legislator of the Year: Senator Betsy Johnson


2013 Award Recipients

  • Exceptional Marketing and Promotions Award: Corvallis-Benton County Economic Development Office’s “Yes Corvallis!” initiative (www.YesCorvallis.org).
  • Outstanding Collaborative Partnership: North Marion Enterprise Zone.
  • Business Development Success Story: Henningsen Cold Storage Facility Expansion
  • Economic Development Leader of the Year:  Jill Miles, National Recruitment Officer for the Oregon Business Development Department
  • Legislators of the Year: Senator Lee Beyer and Representative Tobias Read