Public Announcements


Upcoming event opportunities

Here are several event opportunities that OEDA members may be interested in attending. Click on the links below to learn more.

Pacific Northwest Regional Economic Conference: The 51st annual Pacific Northwest Regional Economics Conference will be held at the Riverhouse Hotel in Bend, Oregon, May 23-25, 2017. Learn more

Oregon Bioscience Association: "From Idea to Treatment: Biotech Basics for the Non-Scientist." Trainings held in Bend, Eugene and Portland. Learn more

Pacific Northwest Defense Coalition: Congressional Roundtable, training and networking events. View calendar of events


Congratulations to the 2016 Awards of Excellence in Economic & Community Development winners

2016 Awards of Excellence in Economic & Community Development

Efforts by organizations and individuals to create more high-quality jobs, develop more vibrant communities, and generally improve the quality of life in their regions were recognized at the Oregon Economic Development Association’s 2016 Annual Conference held in Sunriver.

Winners of the awards were selected based on innovative programs or practices in their respective categories. Congratulations to this year's award winners: 

  • Business Development Success of the Year: Daimler Trucks North America, EDCO, and the City of Madras

    Pictured: Kaz Kawamoto, Construction Manager at Daimler Trucks North America with Kristin Retherford, OEDA President.


  • Economic Development Leader of the Year: Renate Mengelberg, Economic Development Director for the City of Canby

    Pictured: Renate Mengelberg, City of Canby with Kristin Retherford, OEDA President.

  • Outstanding Marketing and Promotions: Partnership for Economic Development in Douglas County, Run to Roseburg campaign

    Pictured: Wayne Patterson, Run to Roseberg with Kristin Retherford, OEDA President

  • Outstanding Collaborative Partnership: Oregon RAIN

    Pictured: Caroline Cummings, Oregon RAIN with Kristin Retherford, OEDA President

  • Legislator of the Year: Senator Brian Boquist and Representative Caddy McKeown

    Pictured: Senator Brian Boquist, District 12 Dallas with Kristin Retherford, OEDA President

    Pictured: Representative Caddy McKeown, District 9 Coos Bay with Kristin Retherford, OEDA President


2016-17 OEDA Officers & Board Announced

November 2, 2016

Thank you to everyone who participated in the 2016 OEDA Annual Conference in Sunriver!

At the 2016 Annual Meeting in Sunriver, the membership of the Oregon Economic Development Association (OEDA) approved the 2016-17 Board of Directors:

• Mary Bosch (Rural Development Initiatives, Inc)
• Jody Christensen (McMinnville Economic Development Partnership)
• Bill Clemens (PacifiCorp)
• Ryan DeGrofft (Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation)
• Kevin Greenwood (Port of Newport)
• Leigh Anne Hogue (Eugene Area Chamber of Commerce)
• Melissa Hunting (PGE)
• Shawn Irvine (City of Independence)
• Jamie Jonhk (City of Woodburn)
• Sarah Means (Lane County)
• Jill Miles (Business Oregon)
• Matt Miller (Greater Portland, Inc)
• Tom Nelson (Corvallis Benton County Economic Development)
• Greg O’Sullivan (Klamath County Economic Development Association)
• Kate Porsche (City of Redmond)
• Kristin Retherford (City of Salem)
• Jon Stark (REDI/EDCO)
• Nate Stice (Regional Solutions)
• Connie Stopher (South Coast Development Council)

At its regular Board Meeting following the Annual Conference, the OEDA Board elected the following officers for 2017:

President: Jon Stark (REDI/EDCO)
Vice President: Sarah Means (Lane County)
Treasurer: Kate Porsche (City of Redmond)
Secretary: Matt Miller (Greater Portland, Inc)
Past President: Kristin Retherford (City of Salem)

A full OEDA Board roster, with officers, can be found here.